Kitchen work part-1

Standard

The kitchen. Oh my kitchen. I half like it, half hate it. What I would like is to love it! So the half I like is the side that I actually use. It was done over a year ago by us and my dad. It came out good but I only like it because it’s still not done! We still need crown moulding, cabinet trim, and a new floor. These last touches are going to be finished after we get the other half of the kitchen to the same unfinished stage :/.
Here is the side we’ve neglected completely. These awful shelves have become a catch all for every piece of junk we have in the house. Looking at it now…if that’s all the junk we have then we’re doing ok! It holds all my laundry stuff which is expected because that’s where the washer and dryer are. Yes, we got stuck in a house that doesn’t have a laundry room! Never in a million years would you think you would want a room devoted to laundry, until you don’t have one. Next house, laundry room is a MUST! Anyways… The shelves use to all be whole until we got a stacked washer and dryer trying to save room. It was good for a while until they broke and well here we are. A mess left behind is where.

The never been touched side.

The never been touched side.


So the plan is to rip it out, fix the walls and paint it the same color as the rest of the kitchen. Yup, I have a two toned kitchen:/ the other side is green. And put up three cabinets and a shelf. The shelf is going to serve two purposes. A shelf and a….. You’ll have to wait for the reveal!
My new DIY attitude pushed me to put this plan into action. I ripped the shelves out. There’s no going back now. Taking them out just emphasized how tore up the walls are. I hope I can get my hubby to just fix them rather then gut it. Can I just say that those little bars of wood were a pain in hump to take out! Those things were on there good!

20130106-215255.jpg Also Craftsman needs a lady hammer. The hammer I was using was so fricken heavy that my arms were burning after taking out just one. I almost left them for the hubs to take out. It was ridiculous! But they’re off and this is what we’re left with.

20130104-170815.jpg A mess!!!! The last bars are left on to help with getting the cabinets up. (Learned that from my dad:-) ) hopefully tonight I can scrape the walls and the hubby can get his tape and float on. To be continued tomorrow.

Leave a comment